top of page
  • Writer's picturesteinermp1980

Decluttering the house and our lives

Updated: Nov 9, 2021

Today marks one week since stepping into the world of retirement. So far, I still feel like I’m on vacation. It’s still new enough that I haven’t quite figured out a pattern, but maybe that’s good. Since my husband stepped into retirement a few months earlier, he’d begun a project that we’ve been talking about for a long time – that of clearing the attic and garage of all the “things” we don’t want or need.

Initially, we planned to have a garage sale but since we’d both said after the last one, we’d never have another, I suggested an alternate plan -- to sell things on the local Facebook online garage sale. He was skeptical. I was optimistic. I’ve since proven his skepticism unwarranted.

Turns out everything is saleable – if you can find the right buyer. And someone really wants that faded inflatable swimming pool in your garage attic. Have you tried to buy your kid a wading pool in the middle of a pandemic? If I had 25 small air compressors, I could have sold them all within 15 minutes of posting them. Vintage, paintable kitsch is popular among the DIY-ers. I met a lovely woman who buys and sells vintage items at an antique mall I’ve never visited. She gave me her card when she picked up her purchase. And contrary to what you might have heard, there is still a market for antique furniture – just don’t expect the buyers to leave the item in its pristine, original condition. Once they buy it, they can do whatever they want – don’t even try to explain provenance. If they know (and care) that it’s an antique, they’ll ask. If they just like the piece as a possible upcycling project, they’ll be happy with what it is.

After less than 24 hours, the house, garage, and my mind feel less cluttered. But we’re just getting started. The house feels lighter already – as if its old bones are sighing from the reduced weight. Now we just have to remember not to buy more stuff.


29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page