top of page
  • Writer's picturesteinermp1980

Learning the value of making global friends virtually

Updated: Feb 21, 2023

True story: I read the weddings in the New York Times. I don't read them to see what the bride or groom or their attendants wore. Instead, I read them to learn about how others live and work -- often in New York City, but also in locations globally.


In early November, a single word in a particular wedding story caught my attention. It was a reference to the bride's employer, Revel, a social and events platform for women in midlife. I immediately searched for Revel online and learned that there was no cost to join and that I could attend countless virtual events every day of the week. I immediately signed up and started searching for interesting events.


One of the first groups I joined was led by the bride in the NYT feature. Every weekday, the group met online for a 1/2 hour meditation and discussion. They were so welcoming to every newcomer that I instantly felt like I suddenly had 5-12 friends to see every day, to talk about meditating and how to quiet our thoughts. It was as if a whole new world had opened up. These were my women. We listened, sometimes advised, always supported, and shared favorite quotes, poems, words with each other -- each of which we dubbed a tattoo.

Over the next few months, I did other events -- several writing sessions, meditative drawing, qigong, stretching, decluttering, sewing and more. And in every group, I found connections. Really good friends are hard to find and having them across the globe was especially rare.


Then, in early January, we were surprised (shocked) when the founders of Revel announced that the organization was shutting down. Sufficient financial backing had proven elusive. There was panic, anxiety, anger, fear, and questions about how to keep groups active. A Revel employee stepped up and with the help of MeetUp, started a MeetUp group, Finding Friends after Fifty, where we could continue to connect.


Several of the women in our morning meditation group worked out a plan so we could continue to meet. Thanks to their work, it was a seamless switch. We've been meeting under the new site for a week and while we're comfortable in the new space, we still regret the closing of Revel -- such a unique place for women to meet.


Most of my other regular groups have moved to MeetUp or another platform. Through Revel, I had discovered meditative drawing, which is truly meditative and relaxing. I've learned new techniques for drawing that come without restrictions and require no artistic background. Since then, I've registered for additional workshops through the leader's website.


Through several decluttering groups, I've gotten control of my sewing room by spending 45 minutes with at least a dozen other women facing the clutter in their lives. Knowing that others are in the same space - albeit, virtual - with whom I can chat, ask for advice, laugh, makes me work harder. It's about being accountable but also about knowing someone else gets it.


Covid has caused many problems for all of us, but in retrospect, it's also created some surprisingly good experiences. First working from home, then retiring in the midst of the pandemic, I quickly recognized the loss of daily -- hourly -- conversation with others. I've since learned the value and fun of connecting virtually.


It has been a surprising, but very satisfying, few months and I expect to continue connection with old friends and new ones, finding new interests and expanding on old ones, learning, and listening. Life is good.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page